Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill… both ways.

This past weekend I invited all the girls over to my house for our first “stitch n bitch”.  I had been wanting to do this for some time now.  I thought it would be a lot of fun to have some friends over and hang out, have a few drinks, a few laughs and work on one of the many projects that I have started and have never completed.  Well, that was exactly how it went down… all except I found myself taking on another project.

I thought it would be fun to use my little girls old baby clothes to make a little quilt.  Of course I have never made a quilt before, but I am never one to back down from a challenge.  Especially a crafting challenge.  The only problem I have seems to be completing these crafts.  I usually get an idea like this and run to the store, buy up all my supplies, work on it for an afternoon or two then it sits in a box or bag somewhere crying out my name every time I go into the basement.  I won’t bore you with the details of the countless crafts I have started, or relive my shame in not having come close to finishing any of these ideas.  Now I am on to something new (yet again)

I have been doing some small little hexagon patches for this baby quilt that I think will look amazing.  I am all geared up to do it on the weekend and I ask my MIL for some advice because she is an amazing quilter.  When I go over to her house she shows me all kinds of extra material I can choose from, all these beautiful patterns that I can make.  She fills my head with ideas and inspiration.  Armed with a jelly roll, some packets of fabric and a giant cutting board I am off on a new quest to make a new project.  It’s a larger quilt made up of little frames.  Looks easy enough, just follow the pattern, cut the material and sew it, right?

The pattern is calling for me to use 1 jelly roll, and a few pack of charms.  I don’t know what these charms things are but I have tons of fabric, and my MIL said I can use the fabric and cut it to the dimensions of the charms they are asking for.  5 1/2 inches squared.  Perfect. So that is just what I do.  Only when I begin to sew the pieces together things are not matching up the way they look on the pattern.  I can’t wrap my head around it. For two days.

I keep at this, because It is something that I am refusing to give up.  Finally I figure out that a “charm” is a 5 inch square and there is a misprint with the pattern I am using.  incredibly frustrating.  I am glad that I did not give up hope though.

I put all my little squares up on a fleece blanket in the basement so I can see what my pattern would look like.

Fleece blanket allowed the squares to stick like magic.

I then began to sew all the frames around the squares.  I scrapped the idea of using the fleece blanket and i just looked at the picture on my phone to see where everything goes.  Two reasons.  I like to do things as I go, and I was done with going up and down the stairs every time I needed a new block to work on.

after I started to get going, sewing these frames around these squares was pretty easy.

Then all I have to do is just sew the squares in a strip, ensuring that I match up the center charm on each and there we will have it.

frames quilt that I started for stitch n bitch

This is where I am at now, once I am done I will post a follow-up.  I am hoping that by posting this blog it will give me some extra accountability for actually finishing this project.  I am sure it will.  I have already talked about my next 3 quilts I plan on making.

Comments on: "Catching the Quilting Bug Part 1" (3)

  1. I love these blocks; they look a lot easier for my novice self to accomplish than the ones I attempted in the quilting class I didn’t finish. The session sound like it would be a blast.

    • after i got over the hump of the little type-o in the instructions it is going pretty good. I got most of the sewing done in one night. I think if it is just too hard, we get too down about it and give up. what kind of quilting blocks were you trying to tackle? I think a nice glass of wine (or in my case beer) with a few good friends makes the project more enjoyable. thanks for stopping by and reading :)

  2. [...] The first part of my project can be found here. [...]

Please comment :) I love to hear what you have to say- and always write back.

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Hey You Beer Me

Documenting my way through growing an estate ale

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

The Beer Gypsy

www.thebeergypsy.com

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Pub Patio Playdate

Stuff from an urban Ottawa mom for urban Ottawa families...

Life According to Julie

Either Write Something Worth Reading or Do Something Worth Writing

Bad Playdate

When I was single, I went on bad dates. Now I go on hundreds of bad playdates. And boy, are they weird.

le zoe musings

Love to Create. Hope to Inspire.

Otownmommy's Blog

Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill... both ways.

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

kate stull

writing & style watching.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

All Good Things

To all thats bright & beautiful

Games for Learning

The International Dinner Project

Taking the kids around the world, from our kitchen table

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,891 other followers

