Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill… both ways.

I think I discovered a fantastic Idea that has just been under my nose the whole time.  It’s one of those things that is brilliant but I just never thought of it before- I don’t know why- but it makes perfect sense.

If you are anything like me you have a fridge full of condiments, fresh meats cheeses and amongst them all are mystery foods wrapped in tin foil, in tupperware containers or bowls. 

What is that?  How long has that been in there?  I don’t even want to open it.  I am sure it doesn’t resemble what it once was. 

 

So I have figured out a way to keep everything in some sort of order.  Everytime I make something for dinner and there is a leftover that I need to place in my fridge I make a note of it on my “leftover ledger” and put it in the fridge.  2013-01-15 15.27.41

It may not guarantee that the leftover gets eaten but I have an idea of what is in the bowl, when I put it in there and I know that there is something that needs to be eaten. Whenever something is eaten I can just wipe it off the ledger. Easy as that!

 

you can see how simple the idea is… I have just printed off the picture I made, and put it into a sheet protector.  I cut a strip of peel and stick magnets and adhered it to the back of the sheet.  Viola!

2013-01-15 15.20.47

leftover ledger

Comments on: "The Leftover Ledger" (4)

  1. What an awesome idea!!! I love it!

  2. Love this idea! What I really need it for is the freezer. We have a big one downstairs and I’m constantly assuming I know what’s in there, when really I have NO idea – and of course, no idea how long anything has been in there. I’m resolved to do something about it now!

    • Ohhh yes the freezer would work out really well. I mostly have hops in my big freezer but I should really go down there and and do an inventory! Thanks for adding a great idea to this :)

Please comment :) I love to hear what you have to say- and always write back.

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Hey You Beer Me

Documenting my way through growing an estate ale

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

The Beer Gypsy

www.thebeergypsy.com

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Pub Patio Playdate

Stuff from an urban Ottawa mom for urban Ottawa families...

Life According to Julie

Either Write Something Worth Reading or Do Something Worth Writing

Bad Playdate

There are plenty of educational parenting sites out there. This isn't one of them. It’s for the moms and dads in the back of the class, goofing off, throwing paper airplanes. You know who you are

le zoe musings

Love to Create. Hope to Inspire.

Otownmommy's Blog

Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill... both ways.

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

kate stull

writing & style watching.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

All Good Things

To all thats bright & beautiful

Games for Learning

The International Dinner Project

Taking the kids around the world, from our kitchen table

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,976 other followers

