Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill… both ways.

I am happy to say that we survived the first week of school!  Loveliness is doing well in Grade 1 and was disappointing when she realized that there is no school on Saturdays.  I am going to take this as a good thing.  She loves school again and is excited about it!

I was pretty excited about it too.  Happy that my little girl is growing up and being more independent and also being more entertained and socialized with kids her own age.  I am also quite excited to be home with Sunshine.  I get to spend time on a one on one basis with her again.  My favorite part is being able to be her teacher and show her fun stuff and do fun things.

For the first day of school I wanted to be close by in case I needed to go to the school.  If there was a situation with Loveliness I wanted to be around so I can take care of it.  We stayed home for the first day and decided to do some reading and work on our lap book together.

We started out by reading our book together.  Sunshine loves Pirates so naturally our first lap book would be based on pirates.  our favorite pirate book right now is called “Shiver me Letters, A pirate ABC” by June Sobel

61JrO9A63mL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU15_

After reading the book we got out our supplies,  we use file folders to make our lap books with.  They are pretty inexpensive and sturdy.  With this book I used 3 file folders because I wanted a little flap in the center for a fun map.

Our lap book has a little something for Sunshine (3 years old ) to learn counting, colours, her alphabet and puppets to play with.  Its also fun for Loveliness ( 6 years old) counting with coins, letter tracing, board game.

Here is a picture of what our book has.  If you would like to make your own you can find lots of great ideas out there.  I got some of the pirate lapbook print outs from Home School Creations HERE!

cover of our Lap book that Sunshine coloured

cover of our Lap book that Sunshine coloured

ABC booklet that fits in the little pocket I made for it on the back of the cover.

ABC booklet that fits in the little pocket I made for it on the back of the cover.

2013-09-03 14.51.42

Counting bags of gold!

Little Puppets on a stick that we coloured together

Little Puppets on a stick that we coloured together

2013-09-03 14.50.58

I placed a velcro tab on the stick so it can be placed back on the page where it belongs when we put it away

2013-09-03 14.51.07

We made a fun Treasure Map. We painted it with Tea and when it was dried (i took a short cut and dried it in the microwave for a minute or two) we torched it with a lighter and I made a fun “connect the dots with your finger” game

Find the Treasure board game

Find the Treasure board game

2013-09-03 14.50.35

board game for the kids to play

This fun little letter tracing page can be found HERE

trace the letters with dry erase marker

trace the letters with dry erase marker

More fun with matching letters.  Letters are in Lower case and upper case

More fun with matching letters. Letters are in Lower case and upper case

2013-09-03 14.50.22

a little flip book that Sunshine had a fun time colouring and we can flip through it and she tells me the colours

On the last page I made a little Treasure Chest that I used from a free clip art page.  I designed little coins with the denominations of 1 5 10 25 and 100

I made a little “shopping list” for the kids to buy things for their ship with coins.  Loveliness unties the scroll and chooses what she wants to buy from the list and tries to make the correct change for it.  We had a lot of fun playing with it!

pirate shopping list is tied up in a scroll.  coins are in the treasure chest

pirate shopping list is tied up in a scroll. coins are in the treasure chest

then my husband pointed out that the row boat was a rip off?!!

then my husband pointed out that the row boat was a rip off?!!

 

i printed these on yellow paper and i cut these out.  I glued the chest to a piece of paper and then glued that to the book

i printed these on yellow paper and i cut these out. I glued the chest to a piece of paper and then glued that to the book

 

Hope this little post helps inspire you to make your own lapbook.  The kids really love making them and they are just as much fun for me too.

Have you made a lapbook before?

Let me know what you think!

Comments on: "Shiver me timbers!!! a pirate lapbook!" (3)

  1. Oh man, this is just adorable! And super ambitious. I am impressed with your creativity and work ethic!

    • Thanks! we had a lot of fun with it – and we are still playing with it when we take out the pirate book. i need to make another one – hopefully on Monday – thanks for reading :)

  2. […] Share   Homeschool Creations   Dynamic 2 Moms   Leaping into Learning   Pirate Lapbook   I Choose Joy Pirate Lapbook           Filed Under: […]

Please comment :) I love to hear what you have to say- and always write back.

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Hey You Beer Me

Documenting my way through growing an estate ale

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

The Beer Gypsy

www.thebeergypsy.com

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Pub Patio Playdate

Stuff from an urban Ottawa mom for urban Ottawa families...

Life According to Julie

Either Write Something Worth Reading or Do Something Worth Writing

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Otownmommy's Blog

Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill... both ways.

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

kate stull

writing & style watching.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

All Good Things

To all thats bright & beautiful

iGameMom

Games for Learning

The International Dinner Project

Taking the kids around the world, from our kitchen table

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,975 other followers

