Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill… both ways.

Every time we go to Brinkeetos my kids love to play with the little Bean bags.  I figured I would make some of our own for them to play with at home.  Of course like all my other projects, this was conceived with a million other projects: Paint the keg taps, make breakfast muffins for daily breakfasts on the go, Move furniture around, dye hair, back to back brewing sessions.

Like all my projects, step one is always sourcing out the materials.  You need to have everything so you are prepared for that moment when you finally decide you are going to roll up your sleeves and get down to bizness. Step 2 is where I have problems – actually getting around to start doing stuff…but i digress.

So I thought to make the bean bags and had great intentions but have still not gotten around to making them.  I found the bag of soy beans in the cupboard that were going to be the “stuff” in the bean bags.  I figured I might as well try to do something with it so I thought to make some toasted soy nuts.

I followed some directions I found here and here and came up with my own method.

here is what i did:

Soak 3 cups of soy beans over night for 30 hours.  Make sure to stir them every once in a while.

Then in a large microwave safe dish I spread them out on a thin layer.  I microwaved them for 4 minutes, then stired them and microwaved them two more times like this.  I had two batches for the microwave.  Once they were done I put them in a bowl and stirred in two tables spoons of coconut oil.

I lay them out on a baking sheet and sprinkled some salt on them.

Image

I heated them in the oven at 400 and stirred them every 5 minutes for about 20 minutes until they were nice and brown. Some of the beans were a bit more toasted, but they tasted like half popped pop corn without the worry you are going to chip a tooth.  :)

Image

Comments on: "Bean Bags or My Belly?" (2)

  1. Hee!! I love it that you repurposed one project into another. Gives me food for thought (ha! puns!).

    How were the nuts? Hope you enjoyed them.

Please comment :) I love to hear what you have to say- and always write back.

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Hey You Beer Me

Documenting my way through growing an estate ale

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

The Beer Gypsy

www.thebeergypsy.com

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Pub Patio Playdate

Thoughts from downtown Ottawa...

Life According to Julie

Either Write Something Worth Reading or Do Something Worth Writing

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Otownmommy's Blog

Pushing a double stroller, in the snow with the brakes on, up hill... both ways.

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

kate stull

writing & style watching.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

All Good Things

To all thats bright & beautiful

iGameMom

Games for Learning

The International Dinner Project

Taking the kids around the world, from our kitchen table

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,975 other followers

